How to Go Gluten Free In 2014: The Basics

The Basics

Are you interested in going gluten-free this New Year? Well, we would like to provide you with some easy information about a gluten-free lifestyle. First thing first though, what exactly is gluten? Gluten is the basic name for certain storage proteins that act as a glue for foods to maintain their shape mainly in wheat, rye, and barley. The protein gluten is composed of a gliadin fraction and a glutenin fraction and when eaten can cause adverse reactions for people who have Celiac Disease (an auto-immune disorder) and gluten sensitivities.

Here is a list created by the Celiac Disease Foundation of the common foods that contain gluten:

  • Pastas
  • Noodles
  • Breads and Pastries
  • Crackers
  • Baked Goods
  • Cereal & Granola
  • Breakfast Foods
  • Breading & Coating Mixes
  • Croutons
  • Sauces & Gravies
  • Flour tortillas
  • Beer, Brewer’s Yeast, and any Malt Beverages — (UNLESS EXPLICITLY LABELED AS GLUTEN FREE – SUCH AS ANY BEER CREATED WITH GROUSE MALTING AND ROASTING PRODUCT).

Keep in mind that there are many other foods that may contain gluten (energy bars, French fries, soup, dressings, candy, lunch meats, meat substitutes, etc) and verification is important to know if something is truly gluten-free.

So, what can you eat that is gluten-free? Well there are many options that are satisfying and healthy.

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Meat and Poultry
  • Fish and Seafood
  • Dairy
  • Beans, Legumes, and Nuts

Keep in mind that the most economical and healthy gluten-free diet is based upon the above foods. These foods are natural and gluten-free!

There are also plenty of grains that are naturally gluten-free as well. Many of these grains are easily found in your local supermarket due to the increased awareness of gluten-free diets. These grains can add variety to your meals.

  • Millet
  • Buckwheat Groats (also known as Kasha)
  • Rice
  • Cassava
  • Corn (maize)
  • Soy
  • Potato
  • Tapioca
  • Beans
  • Sorghum
  • Quinoa
  • Arrowroot
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Flax
  • Chia
  • Yucca
  • Gluten-Free Oats
  • Nut Flours

There are many gluten-free substitutes available in your local supermarket as well! Make sure the product is labeled “gluten-free.” A product labeled “wheat-free” is not necessarily gluten-free. If in doubt, go without. Any well-balanced diet is centered around foods that are minimally processed. The Celiac Disease Foundation will be debuting the Gluten-Free Marketplace on their website early this year which will feature gluten-free products, services, and substitutes in one easy to use location.

Happy New Year! Zum Wohl!

 

Further Reading:

http://celiac.org/live-gluten-free/gluten-free-diet/

http://celiac.org/live-gluten-free/gluten-free-marketplace/

Picture

http://ilovetogossip.com/going-gluten-free-in-2014-5-easy-tips/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *