Gluten-Free Beer?

Last month, the FDA ruled on the definition of “gluten-free” for labeling of products under its jurisdiction. This ruling now allows products to be labeled gluten-free even if they contain gluten ingredients, as long as the final product tests below 20 ppm of gluten. The problem with this definition is that many people have gluten sensitivity levels much lower than 20 ppm and some argue this definition is unfortunately a bit off.

The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) recently announced that the term “gluten-free” is considered misleading when used in the labeling and advertising of alcohol beverages to describe an alcohol beverage product that is made with any amount of wheat, barley, rye, or a crossbred hybrid of these grains, or any ingredient derived from these grains.

In short: Gluten-Free beer MUST be made from 100% gluten-free ingredients.
There are several beers on the market made with barley that are currently marketed or referred to as gluten-free. These brews have been treated with an enzyme which breaks down the gluten protein enough to test below a certain threshold. The problem with this is that the human body can be pretty amazing at finding even the smallest gluten fragments and causing havoc for folks with a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Spread the word. Stay safe. Drink beer made gluten-free from the start.

Picture & More Details: http://glutendude.com/alcohol/gluten-free-beer-wars/

TTB Ruling 2012-2 Gluten-Free Policy: http://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2012-2.pdf

FDA Gluten-Free Definition: http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm363069.htm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *